Ubuntu Versions and their Nicknames

There have been various versions of Ubuntu released. Each version has got its own nickname. I found these nicknames very fascinating and decided to blog about them. Have you noticed one thing ? The versions all seem to end with a .04 or a 0.10. This is because in the fourth month – April of every year, they release a new version of Ubuntu. After a gap of six months, in October(which is the tenth month, they release the next version. Also, the year that the version was released, is also mentioned. For example, 10.04 means that the version was released in April,  2010. These are the various Ubuntu versions and their nicknames :

Ubuntu Versions

Nick Names

Ubuntu 4.10 Warty Warthog
Ubuntu 5.04 Hoary Hedgehog
Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy Badger
Ubuntu 6.04 Dapper Drake
Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft
Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn
Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon
Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron
Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex
Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope
Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Kola
Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx
Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat
Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal
Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

The next release is expected to be in April, 2012.

source  :  here

2 thoughts on “Ubuntu Versions and their Nicknames

  1. UBUNTU IS AWESOME! I use it, and find it WAY easier than Windows, dispite what people say about linux being for geeks (not saying I’m not a computer geek) 🙂

Leave a Reply to sharedblogg Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s